Rights of data subjects (part 2)

In the first part of the article, we have already discussed the right to access, right to rectification, right to erasure (‘right to be forgotten’), right to restriction of processing. Now is the time to open the veil of such rights of personal data subjects as:

  1. Right to data portability.
  2. Right to object.
  3. The right not to be subject to automatic decision-making.
  4. Right to lodge a complaint with a supervisory authority and the right to compensation.

Right to data portability

It was introduced relatively recently, so it is not 100% implemented anywhere. The subject can expect to receive their personal data in order to transfer them from one controller to another (if this is technically possible). It seemed that the right to portability is similar to the right to access? We tell you about at least two significant differences.

The right to portability is only used when the data:

processed on the basis of consent or agreement (the right of access applies to all legal reasons);
data processing should be automated.

The mechanism for data portability rights is as follows. At the request of the subject, the company generates all his personal data in a single file. After that, the document is passed either to the subject personally, or to the new controller (if it is specified by the subject). However, the file format must not be human-readable, but machine-readable in order to import personal data into the system of another controller.

In addition, the right to portability may be accompanied by a request to delete data from the first controller, but it doesn’t automatically delete personal data.

It is assumed that companies must agree on a common standard for data transfer, including the mechanism, format, and markup.

For example, the social network Vkontakte is subject to GDPR regulation, since it offers goods and services to individuals located in the European Union and has several language versions (English, French, Polish, etc.).

Therefore, VK users are personal data subjects who can exercise the right to data portability. In this case, the VK must provide the user with machine-readable photos, correspondence, and personal profile data for importing this information to Facebook.

It would be more reasonable for the VC to pass the data directly to Facebook to eliminate the risk of data loss by the subject. But the problem is that the right to portability is currently poorly implemented, because there is no single standard between social networks for what type and what data can be exported. Technical employees are forced to make individual decisions for each of the cases.

You probably remembered that Facebook added the ability for users to download their personal data? Yes, true, but this is about implementing the access right, not the portability right. Why? You can get personal data in a human-readable format, rather than a machine-readable format.

Right to object

The subject has the right to object to the processing of their personal data if they believe that their situation does not fall under the legitimate interest of the controller. In other words, the right to object can only be exercised if the processing is based on the legitimate or public interest of the controller. This right can also be used when the subject decides to withdraw their consent to data processing.

The controller has the right to consider the subject’s objections and make one of two decisions: either reject the objections and continue processing, or accept the objections and stop processing personal data.

Important! The right to object does not imply automatic satisfaction of the data subject’s requirements, and the controller has the final say. On a case-by-case basis, the objection must be considered, the situation analyzed, and a decision made as to whether this processing is necessary for the vital interests of the company or the public.

There is one exception to this rule. The subject’s objection to processing must be satisfied automatically if the personal data was processed for direct marketing purposes.

For example, a company has a pool of customers whose personal data was collected to sell their products. The organization also makes an email newsletter where it tells about the partner’s products. The client has the right to object to the processing of personal data, and the controller, in turn, will not have grounds for refusal.

In the privacy policy, it is recommended to specify in detail the legitimate interest of the company for data processing. Why? As we have already said, the subject has the right to object only to treatments based on a legitimate interest.

The right not to be subject to automatic decision-making

According to article 22 of the Regulations, this decision is based on an automated process. Simply put, situations where a robot decides the fate of a person.

You should pay attention to two points. First, if the company uses automated solutions, this must be specified in the privacy policy. Secondly, it is necessary to specify how the subject’s right to access their personal data will be implemented.

Let’s look at an example. Previously, insurance premiums for clients were calculated by an algorithm using a given formula. No, this doesn’t mean that now that the rules of Regulation apply, you need to hire an employee who will count everything manually. It is enough to appoint a responsible person so that they can track how relevant the decision was made and, if necessary, correct it.

Unfortunately, the Regulations do not contain instructions on the extent to which automation can continue, so you need to be prepared that clarifications may be made soon.

 

The right to compensation

In addition to the fine for violating the GDPR rules, the company is also required to pay compensation to the data subject if they so request. This right to compensation for moral and material losses for subjects is provided for in article 82 of the Regulations.

In addition, subjects have the right to defend themselves in a class action. For example, as a result of violation of the processing rules, 5 million people were affected, each of them suffered damage in the amount of 100 euros. Non-governmental associations and non-profit organizations specially created to protect the rights of subjects can represent these subjects in court and file class actions in court to recover compensation.

At one of the congresses on personal data protection in Brussels, representatives of a British law firm shared their experience. The company has established a non-profit organization to file class-action claims for compensation. According to lawyers, the GDPR rules created a “perfect storm” for Association. Today, European human rights organizations also have a material interest in protecting the rights of subjects: the larger the amount of a class action, the more substantial the fee for legal services rendered.

Right to lodge a complaint with a supervisory authority

Article 77 of the Regulations that the subject has the right to apply for protection to the Supervisory authority. This right can be exercised at the place of residence, work, or location of the violation.

For example, the subject lives in Austria, goes to work in Germany, and the company that violated his rights is located in France, which means that he can choose the country to apply to. At the same time, the Supervisory authorities have the opportunity to jointly investigate one complaint.

Data subjects from outside EU also have the right to appeal to the Supervisory authorities if European companies violate their rights. However, this right can only be exercised at the place where the rules are violated. For example, if you are located in Moscow and the rules were violated by a company located in Germany, then you need to file a complaint with the German Supervisory authority.

If the decision of the Supervisory authority does not satisfy the subject, he has the right to appeal it in court.

The course is loading, wait a few seconds

DPO
Постановка системы защиты персональных данных согласно европейским регламентам и национальным законам

Права субъектов данных (часть 2)

В первой части статьи мы уже рассказали о праве на доступ, праве на уточнение информации, праве быть забытым, праве на ограничение обработки. Сейчас же время открыть завесу таких прав субъектов персональных данных, как: 

  1. Право на переносимость данных;
  2. Право на возражение против обработки;
  3. Право не быть объектом автоматического принятия решений;
  4. Право подать жалобу в надзорный орган и право на компенсацию.

Право на переносимость данных

Введено относительно недавно, поэтому нигде не реализовано на 100%. Субъект может рассчитывать на получение своих персональных данных с целью передачи их от одного контролёра к другому (если это возможно с технической точки зрения). Показалось, что право на переносимость схоже с правом на доступ? Рассказываем, как минимум, о двух существенных различиях.

Право на переносимость используется только тогда, когда данные:

  • обрабатываются на основе согласия или договора (право на доступ применимо ко всем правовым основаниям);
  • обработка данных должна быть автоматизированной.

Механизм действия права на переносимость данных следующий. По требованию субъекта компания формирует все его персональные данные в один файл. После чего документ передается либо субъекту лично, либо новому контролёру (в случае, когда он указан субъектом). При этом, формат файла должен быть не человеко-читабельным, а машино-читабельным, чтобы импортировать персональные данные в систему другого контролёра.

Кроме того, право на переносимость может сопровождаться и запросом на удаление данных у первоначального контролёра, но не влечет за собой автоматического удаления персональных данных.

Подразумевается, что в каждой сфере бизнеса компании должны договориться о едином стандарте переноса данных, включая механизм, формат, разметку.

Например, социальная сеть Вконтакте — объект регулирования GDPR, поскольку предлагает товары и услуги находящимся на территории Евросоюза лицам и имеет несколько языковых версий (английском, французском, польском и др.).

Следовательно, пользователи ВКонтакте — субъекты персональных данных, которые могут воспользоваться правом на переносимость данных. В этом случае ВК должен предоставить пользователю в машино-читабельно виде его фотографии, переписки, данные персонального профиля для импортирования этой информации в Facebook.

Для ВК разумнее было бы передать данные напрямую Facebook, чтобы исключить риск утери данных субъектом. Но проблема в том, сейчас право на переносимость реализовано слабо, потому что между социальными сетями отсутствует единый стандарт, в каком виде и какие данные можно экспортировать. Получается, что технические сотрудники вынуждены принимать индивидуальные решения по каждому из случаев.  

Вероятно, вы вспомнили, что Facebook добавил возможность для пользователей скачать свои персональные данные? Да, верно, однако это касается реализации права на доступ, а не права на переносимость. Почему? Вы можете получить персональные данные в человеко-читабельном, а не машино-читабельном формате.

Право на возражение

Субъект имеет право возразить против обработки своих персональных данных, если считает, что его ситуация не попадает под легитимный интерес контролёра. То есть, право на возражение может быть реализовано лишь тогда, когда обработка основана на легитимном или публичном интересе контролёра. Также данным правом можно воспользоваться, когда субъект решает отозвать свое согласие на обработку данных.

Контролер имеет право рассмотреть возражения субъекта и принять одно из двух решений: либо отклонить возражения и продолжить обработку, либо принять возражения и прекратить обрабатывать персональные данные.

Важно! Право на возражение не подразумевает автоматического удовлетворения требований субъекта данных, а последнее слово остается за контроллером. В каждом конкретном случае необходимо рассмотреть возражение, проанализировать ситуацию и принять решение, необходима ли данная обработка для жизненно важных интересов компании или общественности.

У данного правила есть одно исключение. Возражение субъекта против обработки должно быть удовлетворено автоматически, если персональные данные обрабатывались для целей прямого маркетинга.

Например, у компании сформирован пул клиентов, персональные данные которых были собраны для продажи своих товаров. Организация же делает email-рассылку, где рассказывает продуктах партнёра. Клиент вправе возразить против обработки персональных данных, а контролёр, в свою очередь, не будет иметь оснований на отказ. 

В политике приватности рекомендуется подробно прописать легитимный интерес компании для обработки данных. Почему? Как мы уже сказали, субъект имеет право возражать только против обработок, основанных на легитимном интересе. 

Право не быть объектом автоматизированного решения

Согласно статье 22 Регламента это решение, которое базируется на автоматизированном процессе. Проще говоря, ситуации, когда робот решает судьбу человека.

Стоит обратить внимание на два момента. Во-первых, если в компании используются автоматизированные решения, то это обязательно необходимо указывать в политике приватности. Во-вторых, указать надо и то, как будет реализовываться право субъекта на доступ к своим персональным данным.

Разберемся на примере. Раньше страховые премии для клиентов рассчитывал алгоритм по заданной формуле. Нет, это не значит, что теперь, когда действуют правила Регламента, нужно нанять сотрудника, который будет считать всё вручную. Достаточно назначить ответственного, чтобы он мог отслеживать, насколько релевантное принято решение и, если нужно, корректировал. 

К сожалению, Регламент не содержит указаний на то, в какой мере автоматизация может сохраниться, поэтому нужно быть готовым, что вскоре могут быть внесены уточнения.

Право на компенсацию

Помимо штрафа за нарушение правил GDPR, компания также обязана выплатить субъекту данных компенсацию, если он того потребует. Это право на компенсацию моральных и материальных потерь для субъектов предусмотрено статьей 82 Регламента.

Кроме того, у субъектов есть право на защиту в групповом иске. Например, в результате нарушения правил обработки пострадало 5 миллионов человек, каждый понес ущерб в размере 100 евро. Специально созданные для защиты прав субъектов неправительственные ассоциации и некоммерческие организации могут представлять этих субъектов в суде и подавать коллективные иски в суд с целью взыскания компенсаций.

На одном из конгрессов по защите персональных данных в Брюсселе представители одной британской юридической компании поделись своим опытом. Компания учредила некоммерческую организацию, чтобы подавать групповые иски о взыскании компенсаций. По словам юристов нормы GDPR создали “идеальный шторм” для объединения в ассоциации. Сегодня у европейских правозащитных организаций есть и материальный интерес становится на защиту прав субъектов: чем больше сумма коллективного иска, тем существеннее гонорар за оказанные юридические услуги.

Право на подачу жалобы в надзорный орган

Статья 77 Регламента говорит о том, что у субъекта есть право обратиться за защитой в надзорный орган. Это право может быть реализовано по месту жительства, работы или локации нарушения.

Например, субъект живет в Австрии, ездит на работу в Германию, а компания, нарушившая его права, находится во Франции, а значит он может сам выбрать страну для обращения. При этом, у надзорных органов есть возможность совместно расследовать одну жалобу.

У субъектов данных из постсоветского пространства также имеется право на обращение в надзорные органы, если европейские компании нарушают их права. Однако такое право может быть реализовано только по месту нарушения правил. Например, если вы находитесь в Москве, а правила нарушила компания, располагающаяся в Германии, то подать жалобу необходимо в немецкий надзорный орган.

Если же решение надзорного органа не удовлетворяет субъекта, то он имеет право обжаловать его в суде.

 

Расписание курсов загружается, подожди несколько секунд